Home » Your wellbeing » Bereavement support

When we experience a death, bereavement, grief, and loss can affect people in a number of ways. There is no right or wrong way to feel through this experience.


Our feelings can be experienced with great intensity, in passing waves or may appear unexpectedly. It can be difficult to recognise our feelings when we are experiencing bereavement, grief, or loss.

The Kubler-Ross 5 stages of grief model is useful for recognising and understanding your own or a colleague’s feelings and behaviours.



Most people will experience all of these phases: for some people their experience may be linear, and moves from one stage to the next, for others grief may feel more chaotic, and move back and forth being stages frequently.


Bereavement services

Losing a friend or relative is a tough experience to go through. Here, we have provided details of some of the key support that is available to you.


National support


Local support

NHS have produced a series of guidance packs to support people through the bereavement process. There are three guides available, as follows:

  • How to prepare for the death of a friend or relative: this guide helps you to understand what to expect when someone is near the end of their life, provides tips on practical care, and information on where to go for further support.
  • What to do if a friend or relative dies: this guide provides practical advice on areas such as arranging a funeral, looking after an individual’s personal affairs, and caring for their pets.
  • Where to go for bereavement support: this guide provides a list of organisations for people to reach out for support at any stage of the grieving process. It includes national, local, and specialist organisations, along with contact details.
Skip to content